Foundation Room

In this room visitors can listen to the story of the arrival of the first community of Sisters of Saint Joseph in Tasmania, at Westbury in 1887.

Sister Francis McCarthy recalls the voyage of the founding group of sisters and their pioneering work in establishing the early schools and religious communities in Tasmania. A brief biography of each of the five sisters is presented as well as some of Father Julian’s writings about the community and school life of the sisters.