A story to inspire…

When you visit the Josephite Mission and History Centre you enter the site where a unique story has been unfolding for over a hundred years. It is a story which began with a dream shared by Mary MacKillop and Julian Tenison Woods at Penola, South Australia in 1866. The Centre was formerly the Mother House of the Sisters of St Joseph in Tasmania. It was established as such in 1907.

JMHC Hobart Hours of Operation

The centre is open weekdays between 10.00am and 4.00pm and by appointment weekends and public holidays. Phone us on (03) 6228 1628 to arrange a tour of the facilities for groups.

Booking Enquiry

Please make your booking enquiry in the form below

Upcoming Events View Our Events

A number of  programmes and experiences are offered throughout the year.  All welcome.

  • On-going Spiritual Direction is available for those seeking to deepen their prayer life and explore their relationship with God. 

  • Christian Meditation every Tuesday 10.00 a.m.

  • Lectio Divina: 2nd and 4th Thursday of the month 10.00 a.m.

  •  7 October,  Anniversary of the death of Fr Julian Tenison Woods - Prayer 2.00 p.m.

 

Chapel

Visitors to the Chapel can spend some quiet time imbibing the spirit of the deceased sisters whose names are recorded on the Memorial Wall. Every Sister who has lived, worked and died in Tasmania is acknowledged.

The chapel is used for personal and community prayer, celebrations of Eucharist and as a flexible space for groups to gather.

Shop

Purchase books/resources, Mary MacKillop merchandise, DVDs, prayer cards and memorabilia.

Visit the Online Store
Visit the Online Store

History Rooms

History and Father Julian's Rooms

The History Room tells the story of the involvement of the Sisters of St Joseph in Tasmanian Catholic Education since 1887.  

Both the community life of the sisters and school life are presented through a variety of exhibits which will take visitors back in time to the last half of the nineteenth century.   


History and Father Julian's Rooms

Father Julian’s room depicts the co-founder of the Sisters of St Joseph in his multi-gifted dimensions, as priest-missioner, educator, geologist, environmentalist, artist, poet and writer. 


Selections of his illustrations and writings about the Tasmanian environment, its flora and fauna, are presented, as well as a selection of the books he authored. There is a lock of Father Julian’s hair on display.  Some hand-writing from his time as a missioner in the Huon area has been preserved. 

Foundation Room

In this room visitors can listen to the story of the arrival of the first community of Sisters of St Joseph in Tasmania, at Westbury in 1887.

Sister Francis McCarthy recalls the voyage of the founding group of sisters and their pioneering work in establishing the early schools and religious communities in Tasmania. A brief biography of each of the five sisters is presented as well as some of Father Julian’s writings about the community and school life of the sisters.

Mission Room

This is a spacious and flexible space made available to community groups for workshops, meetings and seminars. 

The room has a kitchenette with facilities for catering. There is equipment for E-conferences, power point and DVD presentations. 

For the latest updates, subscribe to the Mary MacKillop Online Newsletter

Sign up

Contact

Josephite Mission and History Centre

67 Clare Street, New Town, TAS, 7008

Access to the front of the Centre is via 67 Clare Street. Disabled access is best via the Sacred Heart College Primary Campus playground at the back of the building.

From humble beginnings.

The Sisters of St Joseph were founded by Mary MacKillop and Julian Tenison Woods in Penola, South Australia in 1866.

Discover the Story